Elisvietta Ritchie, translator of Lyubov Sirota’s Chernobyl poems, is an American writer whose poetry and fiction has been widely published. She has made many translations of Russian poetry and prose, including Aleksandr Blok’s The Twelve and works by Anna Akhmatova, Nikolai Gumilev, Aleksandr Galich, Yevgeniy Yevtushenko, Robert Rozhdestvenskiy, and Arkady Rovner. She has worked as a contract translator from French and Russian for various governmental and private clients. Her own poetry has been translated and published in a dozen languages.

Books and chapbooks by Elisavietta Ritchie

Awaiting Permission To Land (poetry, 2006)
The Spirit Of The Walrus (poetry, 2005)
In Haste I Write You This Note: Stories & Half-Stories (2000)
The Arc Of The Storm (poetry, 1998)
Elegy For The Other Woman:
New & Selected Poems
Wild Garlic: The Journal Of Maria X. (novella In verse, (1995)
A Wound-Up Cat And Other Bedtime Stories (poetry, 1993)
Flying Time: Stories & Half-Stories (1992 & 1996)
The Problem With Eden (poetry, 1985)
Raking The Snow (poetry, 1982)
Moving To Larger Quarters (poetry, 1977)
A Sheath Of Dreams And Other Games (poetry, 1976)
Tightening The Circle Over Eel Country (poetry, 1974)
Timbot, (novella In verse, 1970)
Poetry anthologies created and edited:
The Dolphin’S Arc: Poems On Endangered Creatures Of The Sea (1986)
Finding The Name (1983)
Textbooks line-edited

Interventions Following Mass Violence and Disasters (2006)
Tsunami Relief Efforts by Several Militaries of the World (in press)

To contact her, write


Elisavietta Ritchie
3207 Macomb Street NW
Washington DC 20008-3327


P.O. Box 298
Broomes Island MD

Return to
The Chernobyl Poems

Dr. Adolph Harash: “A Voice from Dead Pripyat”